http://forum.photonlight.com

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Smoke cutting light

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Photon Discussion Board Forum Index -> General Photon Forum
S. Minakami

PostPosted: Sat Apr 03, 1999 3:04 pm    Post subject: Smoke cutting light Reply with quote

I'm a firefighter and looking for a back-up light to carry and think the Photon would be a great light to carry. Can anyone recommend a color light that would cut through a smoke filled enviroment the best. Or what color light would (you) recommend? Thanks

John

PostPosted: Sat Apr 03, 1999 8:11 pm    Post subject: Re: Smoke cutting light Reply with quote

Sorry, I can not make a recommendation as to one that would cut through smoke.

In my experience with the Photon lights, I do not think that it would be quite what you are looking for. These lights are the size of a quarter and while they do produce a lot of light for their size, they are still a small light. The closest popular light that I can compare them to is a mini-mag-light-solitare. The solitare is the little one that uses one AAA battery. My white and yellow Photon II lights produce a comparable amount of usable light to it.
I carry one on my keyring and one on a "dog-tag" chain around my neck.

They are great little lights, but the key word here is little. as a back-up light inside a smoke filled environment, I think you would be better off with a bigger light such as the Pelican or UKE (Underwater Kinetics) dive lights that use a 2 or more AA cells. My dad is a full time FF and I am a Police Officer so we take our lights seriously. His back up is a UKE 4AA cell small and light but still bright enough. Photons are at their best in my experience as the light you have when you wouldnt normally be carrying one at all.

Just my opinion/experience good luck

Shannon